top of page

Learning to Live in the Lab


I met Dr. DeCoster last spring before arriving to Louisiana Tech University. As he toured me through CBERS and the cellular neuroscience lab, I expressed my interest in research while earning my degree. I never expected that this tour would have transformed into such a meaningful experience. Luckily for me, Dr. DeCoster has done an incredible job of teaching me what it means to conduct scientific research. After earning the necessary credentials, I immediately began developing skills in Microscopy and Image Analysis of neurological cells. Helping Neha Karekar with her experiments with silver nano particles has taken up the majority of the time I have spent working in the lab. While spending time gathering data, I began to understand the scientific process in practice with respects to medicine and cells. I have had the opportunity to work with a variety of brain cells, seen calcium imaging of cells firsthand with Kahla St. Marthe, and have conducted materials experiments alongside Kyle Rugg.

I am thankful, and have a great deal of gratitude for Dr. DeCoster and the researching students under him for having shown me how to work in a laboratory environment over the past year. I have no doubt that this experience will aid me in my professional path, and I look forward to contributing to the research conducted in the Cellular Neuroscience Laboratory here at Louisiana Tech University.

bottom of page